The 55 most voted players for the 2019 FIFA FIFPRO World 11

Reading time:



Hoofddorp, The Netherlands – 05 September 2019 – For the first time since 2009, English clubs have the most players on the list of 55 footballers with most votes for the 2019 FIFA FIFPRO World 11, which is revealed today.

The Spanish Liga Spain was on top during the previous 9 votes, but came up one player short in comparison with the Premier League: 20 versus 21 players.

European club champions Liverpool lead the Premier League clubs with 7 selections, although Barcelona and Real Madrid still have more players on the list.

South American champions Brazil have 8 players on the list excluding Marcelo and Neymar, who were not a member a Brazil’s Copa America squad.

More than 23,000 professional footballers voted for the 2019 World 11, selecting 1 goalkeeper, 4 defenders, 3 midfielders and 3 forwards who were the best in their position during the 2018-2019 season.

The 11 players who received most votes on their position earn a spot on the World 11.

FIFPRO and FIFA reveal the World 11 on Monday September 23rd during the Best Football Awards in the Milan Scala.

The 55 most voted players are (in alphabetical order):

Name (Country, current club/previous club)

Goalkeepers (5)

Alisson Becker (Brazil, Liverpool FC)

David De Gea (Spain, Manchester United)

Ederson Moraes (Brazil, Manchester City)

Jan Oblak (Slovenia, Atletico Madrid)

Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany, FC Barcelona)


Defenders (20)

Jordi Alba (Spain, FC Barcelona)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (England, Liverpool FC)

Daniel Alves (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain/Sao Paulo)

Joao Cancelo (Portugal, Juventus/Manchester City)

Daniel Carvajal (Spain, Real Madrid)

Giorgio Chiellini (Italy, Juventus)

Virgil van Dijk (The Netherlands, Liverpool FC)

Diego Godin (Uruguay, Atletico/Internazionale)

Joshua Kimmich (Germany, Bayern Munich)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal, SSC Napoli)

Aymeric Laporte (France, Manchester City)

Matthijs de Ligt (The Netherlands, Ajax/ Juventus)

Gerard Pique (Spain, FC Barcelona)

Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)

Andrew Robertson (Scotland, Liverpool FC)

Alex Sandro (Brazil, Juventus)

Thiago Silva (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)

Raphael Varane (France, Real Madrid)

Marcelo Vieira (Brazil, Real Madrid)

Kyle Walker (England, Manchester City)


Midfielders (15)

Sergio Busquets (Spain, FC Barcelona)

Casemiro (Brazil, Real Madrid)

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City)

Christian Eriksen (Denmark, Tottenham Hotspur)

Frenkie de Jong (The Netherlands, Ajax/FC Barcelona)

Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea/Real Madrid)

N’Golo Kante (France, Chelsea)

Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid)

Arthur Melo (Brazil, FC Barcelona)

Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid)

Paul Pogba (France, Manchester United)

Ivan Rakitic (Croatia, FC Barcelona)

Bernardo Silva (Portugal, Manchester City)

Dusan Tadic (Serbia, Ajax)

Arturo Vidal (Chile, FC Barcelona)


Forwards (15)

Sergio Aguero (Argentina, Manchester City)

Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid)

Roberto Firmino (Brazil, Liverpool FC)

Antoine Griezmann (France, Atletico/FC Barcelona)

Harry Kane (England, Tottenham Hotspur)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich)

Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool FC)

Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)

Neymar Junior (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus)

Mohammed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool FC)

Heung-Min Son (South-Korea, Tottenham Hotspur)

Raheem Sterling (England, Manchester City)

Luis Suarez (Uruguay, FC Barcelona)



More World 11 facts:

  • 17 players make their debut on the shortlist, including 4 players from Liverpool: Alisson, Alexander Arnold, Robertson and Firmino.

  • The 13 other newcomers are Alex Sandro, Arthur, Laporte, Bernardo Silva, Eriksen, Tadic, Ederson, De Jong, Son, Cancelo, Koulibaly, De Ligt and Sterling.

  • Aguero and Oblak return to the shortlist. Aguero’s last selection was in 2016, while Oblak was mentioned on the 2017 shortlist.

  • For the first time in the 15-year World 11 history Gianluigi Buffon did not make the list of 55 most voted players. Andres Iniesta finds himself out after 12 consecutive shortlists since 2007. Iniesta has 9 World 11 awards, Buffon has 3.

  • 17 other players from the 2018 list did not receive enough votes: Edinson Cavani, Thibaut Courtois, Philippe Coutinho, Paulo Dybala, Mats Hummels, Isco, Dejan Lovren, Romelo Lukaku, Mario Mandzukic, Nemanja Matic, Yerry Mina, Keylor Navas, Benjamin Pavard, David Silva, Kieran Trippier, Samuel Umtiti and Sime Vrsaljko.

  • Cristiano Ronaldo is the only player voted on all 15 World 11 shortlists.

  • 21 players on the shortlist appeared for a Premier League club last season, while 20 men played for La Liga teams.

  • 9 players were part of Barcelona’s championship team. Real Madrid had 8 players and Liverpool and Manchester City both had 7 players.

  • Brazil have 10 players on the list of 55, the most of any country. France is second with 7 and Spain is third with 6.

  • South Korea’s Heung-Min Son is the first Asian player to appear on the list of 55.

  • His teammate Christian Eriksen is the first Danish player on a shortlist.

  • This is the 15th edition of the World 11. The award was established by FIFPRO in 2005. Since 2009, the world players’ union collaborates with FIFA collaborate: FIFPRO organises the vote and FIFA arranges the award ceremony.

  • The 2018 World 11 was: David De Gea; Dani Alves, Raphael Varane, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo; Luka Modric, N’Golo Kante, Eden Hazard; Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Translate »