FIFA FIFPro World XI of 2010

Reading time:


FIFA and FIFPro proudly presented the FIFA FIFPro World XI of 2010. This Monday evening, during the FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala in Zurich, Switzerland, the best eleven footballers in the world appeared on the stage.

On behalf of FIFPro the former World Player of the Year Marco van Basten presented the eleven trophies to the players of the FIFA FIFPro World XI, namely the best goalkeeper, the four best defenders, the three best midfielders and the three best attackers. They were all chosen following an election held under thousands of their colleagues worldwide.

The 2010 FIFA FIFPro World XI consists of the following players:
 Goal: Iker Casillas (Spain, Real Madrid);
 Defence: Maicon (Brazil, Internazionale), Lúcio (Brazil, Internazionale), Gerard Piqué (Spain, Barcelona) and Carles Puyol (Spain, Barcelona);
 Midfield: Wesley Sneijder (The Netherlands, Internazionale), Xavi (Spain, Barcelona) and Andrés Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona);
 Attack: Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), David Villa (Spain, Barcelona) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid).

For five of the players it is the first time that they have been elected for the World XI, which was introduced by FIFPro in 2005: Maicon, Lúcio, Piqué, Sneijder and Villa.

Barcelona sets a new record. There has never been so many players from one team represented in the World XI. No less than 6 footballers from Barça received an award on Monday evening. The old record was held by AC Milan, which was represented by 5 players in 2005.

A second unique fact is that no fewer than six Spanish footballers form part of the World XI. The old milestone was also held by Spain, which provided a total of 5 players in 2008.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are in the World XI for the fourth year in succession. They are the ‘most decorated’ players of the 2010 FIFA FIFPro World XI. However John Terry is still the record holder. He was elected in the side on all of the five previous occasions.

It is interesting to mention that the SAFP members voted for the follwong FIFA FIFPro World XI which differs only in one position (Eto instead of the winner Villa):


Maicon    Pique    Puyol    Lucio

   Sneijder    Xavi    Iniesta

Messi     Eto’o     C. Ronaldo


Translate »